Pink Poogle Toy Forum

The official community of Pink Poogle Toy
Main Site
NeoDex
It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2024 3:26 am

All times are UTC

Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 7 posts ] 
 Post subject: Running for Beginners...
PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 11:59 am 
Honorary Member
Honorary Member

As i no longer cycle to work (it's to close to bother, i walk instead) i've lost my main source of exercise, so have decided to give running/jogging a go - especially since i work next to a park that's nice to run around, it has lots of paths and many water fountains, i've also found someone else from work who's about as terrible as i am.

I was hoping someone would be able to give me some advice - as a complete beginner who is quite unfit i see that i have two options for when i go running/jogging
- going slow enough for myself to be able to keep going for a long time and slowly try and increase the speed i'm going at
- going at a reasonable speed for bursts of 100m or so (as far as i can go at that speed) then 'walking it off' until i feel like i can go faster again.

Which is the better tactic to choose?

Also, any other general advice/stories?

Post subject: Re: Running for Beginners...
PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 8:43 pm 
Honorary Member
Honorary Member

I'm somewhat in the same boat! I've wanted to start running, and have been doing it on and off for a bit now.

Here's a site that I found was very helpful in getting me started:
http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml

It's very easy to follow week by week plan to help you start out slowly to reach your goal.

Submit your picture for the Official 2009 PPT Collage today!

PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 4:05 am 
PPT God
PPT God